‘Yellow orb over the Sea’ painting

Yellow disc over the Sea gouache and watercolour by sue wellington
‘Yellow orb over the Sea’ watercolour and gouache on Fabriano 300gsm rough paper 20 x 20cm (8 x 8”)

It felt good working on this one. It takes a little while to get used to the Fabriano 300gsm rough paper and see what it can do. I’m still testing the limits of techniques and materials but this paper can take a lot of water and mark making without losing it’s lovely texture.

In this painting I used for the first time a Molotow masking liquid stick (2mm) (very handy for tiny details, such as light on waves), which you paint in to protect from paint those areas. The larger areas I used a bottle of Sennelier liquid masking and I’m glad to say it didn’t rip the paper when I took it off. Hooray as that product has damaged other papers slightly.

Only to a certain extent are the images planned. You put in all the drawing and masking liquid but once you’re painting with watercolour I’ve found you need to let go and let your spirit bond with the paper, water and paint at some point. It’s exciting when that happens. You’re on another level but things don’t always go to plan.

This painting started off in transparent watercolour  but I wasn’t happy with the results. It just didn’t have enough body and power to me, so eventually I used gouache for the sea and rocks. My old favourite. Maybe I’m not going to use transparent watercolours after all for these sea paintings.

