It’s quite exciting…

water stars acrylic on paper unfinished by sue wellington
This is acrylic on paper. I’m really testing how far I want to go with colour. Nearly finished, just have to do the very top.

Had a good day painting and drawing yesterday. I did a couple of small watercolours and finished a large oil landscape and nearly finished a smaller acrylic landscape.

Ghosts in the Sky painting by sue wellington
Sue Wellington ‘The ghosts in the Sky’ oil on linen 92 x 92cm (3′ x 3′)

 

watercolour im working on
It felt good working on this one. It takes a little while to get used to the Fabriano 300gsm rough paper and see what it can do. I used a Molotow masking liquid stick 2mm which is very handy to use on tiny details you want saved from paint to retain the white paper. The larger areas I used a bottle of Sennelier liquid masking and I’m glad to say it didn’t rip the paper when I took it off. Hooray, as that product has damaged other papers slightly. Only to a certain extent are the images planned. You put in all the drawing and masking liquid but once you’re painting with watercolour I’ve found you need to let go and let your spirit bond with the paper, water and paint at some point. It’s exciting when that happens. You’re on another level.
