Landscape on board: variations on a theme of grey, white and yellow

prelim landscape on board by sue wellington
Acrylic landscape prelim test on board 20 x 20cm

This small acrylic painting on wood is a preliminary test for composition, colour and techniques that I will reference in a new series of landscape paintings I’ve been working towards. They’re inspired by the subtle and sometimes glittering light and atmosphere of the Baltic Sea. It’s variations on a theme of greys and whites basically.

I painted it in half an hour just to get the ideas down and get a feel so I didn’t finish it.

The initial paintings will be in transparent watercolour though and you really need to know what you’re doing before you start in watercolour as it’s easy to ruin, hence the preparation. You can’t just paint over what you’ve done like acrylic or oil or scrape it off.

We’ll see how it goes. I’ll keep you posted.

