Breaking up the Jigsaw

Finished a painting today for my neighbour. Hooray! landscape-painting-by-susan-wellington-web.jpg   My neighbour approached me one day when I was sitting outside in the rare Stockholm sun and asked me to do a painting as a gift for her daughter- of her backyard view. It’s a typical swedish landscape of rocks and pines during summer. She gave me a 10 x 15cm photo that she took as the sun was going down. The photo was basically shades of grey and not particularly sharp. So I had to imagine it. I finished it initially a few months ago but she wasn’t that happy with it. The trees were ok but the ground didn’t have enough detail for her. She wanted the rocks. But things are never as simple as just doing more detail on the ground. It was finished- so the pieces fitted together like a jigsaw. So I broke up that jigsaw and did it with more detail. It always takes longer than you think to complete. This time I wore a face mask to block out the fumes a bit. It seemed to have worked though I’m not sure how. I mean it’s just a piece of paper. face mask I’m glad I’ve finished. Though I haven’t shown it to her yet.

I'd love to hear what you think.

