Just a faint halo.

Today I worked on a larger canvas – 90 x 90cm. I see gold  in my mind- gold fragments – gold mosaic pieces glittering. It’s for our house, this painting – perhaps the bedroom. You can never get enough yellow in Sweden as there’s very little sun for over half the year.

I originally started painting this with quite a realistic sunset with mountains and tree branches at the side but I didn’t like it.

I put paint on boldly and then take it off. Over and over again. So there’s all kinds of little marks and scratches. I always have this need to have things appear and disappear- sometimes you almost end up with nothing. Just a faint halo where the objects been.

This painting will be one of my last oil paintings. I can feel my throat and lungs burning slightly today from the fumes.

unfinished-landscape-painting.jpg

I'd love to hear what you think.

