The serious and the quirky

gouache-sketchbook-tree-landscape-by-susan-wellington-1024
Trees by the Sea: Sketchbook gouache on paper, 20 x 14cm

You know I’ve always created images in completely different styles from a really young age. One serious and one quirky. The quirky confined to my sketchbooks.

felt-tip pen-drawing-sketchbook-2-by-susan-wellington
Singing by the Sea: Felt-tip pen  drawing on paper, 20 x 14 cm
felt-tip-pen-sketchbook-drawing-1-by-susan-wellington
Thinking hard: felt tip pen  drawing on paper  20 x 14cm
felt-tip-pen-abstract-sketchbook-drawing-by-susan-wellington
Sketchbook abstract shapes in felt-tip pen,  paper, 20 x 14cm

I’ve listened the past couple of years to various internet art commentators about how you really should only put one style of work on your blog because it’s confusing for people otherwise. And where would that lead?

I’ve decided I’m ignoring that advice in 2014 and will incorporate somehow my quirky style  into my ‘serious’ paintings. I don’t know how . I’m just going to do it and see what happens.  What do you think?

birch-tree-sketchbook-drawing-by-susan-wellington
Birch tree in Winter. Graphite on paper.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jackie says:

    I think it’s a great idea! I look forward to seeing the results. 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks Jackie. We’ll see. Sometimes you think you want to do something quite intensely but it isn’t so good once you do it. But you never know until you do.

      Like

  2. tomsimard says:

    I’d go for it and see what comes of it.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Tom.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think.

