Painters I’ve been looking at: 3

Winslow Homer (1836-1910) did some superb sea paintings. Here’s one. Feels chilly just looking at it.Summer Squall by Winslow Homer
Winslow Homer ‘Summer Squall’ 1904 Oil

I’m not a plein air painter at all but I still like looking at them. The Australian plein air painters (they call them the Australian impressionists in Australia) Roberts  and Streeton painted the beach where I grew up. They’re beautiful and true paintings of the beach in that area of Melbourne. Though to me they miss the brilliance and intensity of the colour and light a little bit. Though I still love them.

Tom_Roberts_-_Slumbering_sea,_Mentone_-_Google_Art_Project

Tom Roberts ‘Slumbering Sea, Mentone’ 1887 Oil

The French impressionists of course painted the beach all the time. And Monet’s probably the best of the sea painting impressionists. Magic.

antibes-afternoon-effect(1).jpg!Large

Claude Monet ‘Antibes Afternoon’ 1888 Oil

I recently saw an exhibition of painters of Normandy (between 1880 and 1910) at Millesgården in Stockholm which like every exhibition I’ve seen in that place was fantastic.

Many painters I hadn’t heard of- like Dubourg, Cals, Pecrus, Stevens, Le Sidaner and the usual suspects- Corot, Monet, Courbet, Bonnard, Renoir all rendering the beach and countryside in Normandy, France. But it was Eugene Boudin’s paintings which really stood out to me. They were small and sensitively done. His work doesn’t really reproduce very well which is probably why I didn’t notice him much in the past. But in real life they really captured the atmosphere and quality of the light and water at the beach.

It’s always great to discover new painters.

boudin-trouville-shore-and-rocks-1862

Eugene Boudin ‘Trouville Shore and Rocks’ 1862 Oil

My other posts about painters I’ve been looking at: 1 and 2

I'd love to hear what you think.

