Abstract Energy Paintings

susanwellington_orangediamond_gouacheonpaper_2012

susanwellington_violetdiamond_gouacheonpaper_2012I’ve been feeling a compulsion to do these abstract paintings the last few months. I don’t know if it’s planetary influences influencing my imagination or my collection of crystals that sit in my studio or something else.  But I love to work in gouache on paper so it’s pure joy regardless (more about gouache here).

susanwellington_whitediamonds_gouacheonpaper_2012

Originally I was working on some paintings about Estonia and came up with these repeating diamond shapes in white and blue. They seemed to characterise Estonia for me. The pine trees and the medieval influence. And the clear airy light blue of the Baltic Sea. But the new images are not just about Estonia now. I think they’re about energy in general.

“The energy of the mind is the essence of life.”
Aristotle, The Philosophy of Aristotle

I'd love to hear what you think.

