The seductiveness of cake mix

summer tree landscape in gouache watercolour by Susan Wellington‘Summer Shimmer’  2010

Preliminary gouache  study for  oil painting.

You know I spend a lot of time working out my compositions and colour and overall emotional tone through drawings before I start my paintings. It’s the way artists have always done it and I do it too. Sometimes though I would’ve like to have been an abstract expressionist. Spontaneous. Splashing paint everywhere, rolling in it, piling it up everywhere without a care in the world other than to your feeling. I’m too tight though. Oil paint costs a fortune. That’s why Jackson Pollock used house paint I’m sure cos it’s a hell of a lot cheaper. I saw some paintings last night in a gallery that were 2 inches thick at various points. It is enjoyable to look at. Almost edible like cake mix or a mud pool. But I don’t really want my pictures to look like cake mix or mud so in the end it’s back to the drawing board.

The true work of art is but a shadow of the divine perfection.

Michelangelo

2 thoughts on “The seductiveness of cake mix

I'd love to hear what you think.

